Located 10 kilometers from Cochin at Thripoonithura is the former residence of the erstwhile Maharaja of Cochin, the Hill palace .This palace built in 1865 which later became the Hill palace museum is a fine example of the traditional Kerala style of architecture. The palace sits amidst 52 acres of terraced land. The complex consists of a total of 49 buildings. The first ever heritage museum and a complete ethno-archeological museum are the main features of this museum complex.
Presently under the control of the Archaeological Department, a deer park was started in the year 1992 on the palace premises. The museum opened in 1991 boasts of 11 well appointed galleries. This includes the Paliath gallery inaugurated in 1991 and was donated by the Paliath family. The other galleries like the numismatic gallery houses coins dating back to the bygone eras. The cabinet hall houses the royal throne the portrait gallery has some impressive paintings on the former as well as some Thanjavoor paintings.
The wood carving gallery consists of wood carving belong to the Enadhimangalam temple. A gallery of porcelain, an epigraphic gallery whose star attraction is a Torah written completely in goat skin, a jewelry gallery housing the royal crown and gold ornaments of antique value, Folklore gallery, a bronze and metal gallery comprising of bronze and silver items,chariot gallery which houses the horse carts imported from England and once owned by the Maharaja of Travancore, A sculpture gallery and Weapons gallery complete the 11 different galleries excluding the Folklore and folkarts. There is also a heritage museum which exhibits traditional household utensils artifacts and other materials of religious worship.